Poetry

MEANING OF LIFE 

I ask myself the meaning of life

When children die with hunger snipes

Some boys who leave for school since morn

Will never return their homes, we mourn

Their blood-splattered bags I see and weep

The tears and anguish which downs me deep

The meaning of life is love among all

To live in love and love our call

No treasure is found in killing us all

No faith preaches, the best we are

The meaning of life is “Care” for all

This selfless love will keep us calm

I search the meaning of life in books

I love to find my peace all nooks

The meaning of life in meaningless world

No love and peace, but hunger and thirst

Yet human race so selfish bunch

To shoot and kill their favorite stunt

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poetry

  1. Donald Lwarie says:

    A truly beautiful sentiment, from the author, poetry is a tricky business and words are slippy fellows, often fishy in their content. Nothing is as powerful as language to me, and poetry is of course condensed language, turbo charged words. A sharp stab at some truth.

    Humour me a while in a word game. An going question “I ask myself the meaning of life”, being of the poet, “I ask myself”, implying, or it could be inferred that the “I” is more than one, otherwise how can I ask myself anything really? Maybe life, or conscientiousness is the on going conversation with ourselves? Possibly.

    I find a beautiful innocence in this poem, that proves despite the lived and vivid images;,horror., something hopeful and gentle rises. I also feel despair in these lines of what humans are capable of doing, have done and are doing to each other as so well reported in Shekinah Today.

    I do object to the final two lines, knowing lots of people that don’t like shooting and killing other human beings, or some who object to the taking of any life. I doubt it’s all that likely that I will walk in to my work tomorrow, or go to the shop for teabags and shoot somebody. I may feel this in an extremely bad, and vindictive mood, but then it passes, I don’t want to shoot anybody, but if threatened what would I do? How are threats defined?

    The human animal is a constant, and will always be at war with it’s self, as the self is at war,. Possibly, Revealing the thoughts are the issue in the context of poetry. Expression, giving shape to thoughts, memories, observations, emotion and experience. Art and language, give form, unique to the person. Poetry. Language, the constant and relentless conversation with ourselves.

    – Bound in this, born to this.

    This clown lights a cigarette, and thinks about this.

    Words.

    Thank you to the Poet, you gave me pause for thought, and some rambling!

  2. Dear Donald,

    Words carry unimaginable power . They have a force to change our inner beings which is reflected in our “outer” world through our actions . For good , for bad. We at ShekinahToday are driven with a passion to bring change for good. For us to reflect, pause and ponder.

    What more do we need to make our world a better place to live ?

    Thanks for your kind comments and encouragement you bring to us.

    • Donald Lwarie says:

      I ask myself the meaning of life When children die with hunger snipes Some boys who leave for school since morn Will never return their homes, we mourn Their blood-splattered bags I see and weep The tears and anguish which downs me deep The meaning of life is love among all To live in […]

      What a safe life I live, really, in my relative luxury I can relax, haggis bubbling in the pot and contemplate important thoughts, Experience of the truly horrific I have next to none there is nothing in my life to compare to those who have been brutalised.

      Although my experience is limited, I do see and I am aware of the horror in the world and I genuinely fear for our future.

      I think it makes some sense to try to improve matters for people as far as we can, people need people, and the sharing of burdens makes sense to me.

      Knowing that people suffer should be a common bond to do good for each other, and helping, or trying to help folks along is a good thing to do, for sure,

      The comment that I made was of course existential, even existentialists have some hope!

      Haggis is ready…!

Leave a Reply

